About Us

Mission Statement

  • We are an elected body, enacted by the Italian Government to represent the needs, desires, hopes, and aspirations of the diverse Italian communities in South Australia and advise the Italian Government authorities and relevant stakeholders on ways of responding to these needs;
  • We put forward perspectives, proposals and initiatives which are intended to benefit local Italians and Italian Communities in areas that include social, cultural, welfare, education, recreation, sport and leisure;
  • We work in partnership with the Consular Authorities, Governments, Organisations and Associations to advocate, advise and facilitate on the needs, hopes and aspirations of the Italian Communities;
  • We do the above through consultation, and research to extend our understanding.


Our Vision

  • A high achieving committee that understands, respects and values the vibrant and diverse Italian Communities of South Australia, recognises and represents their needs, and inspires future generations to maintain and develop strong affiliations with the Italian language and culture.


Our Purpose

  • Facilitating and enabling Services to meet the needs of Italian Communities Living Abroad


Our Stakeholders

  • Diverse Italian communities
  • Italian Organisations and Associations
  • Italian Government through the Italian Consulate of Adelaide and the Italian Embassy in Canberra;
  • General Council of Italians Abroad (CGIE); and
  • Local, state and federal governments of Australia


Our Values

  • People as our focus
  • Respect
  • Consultation, collaboration, and responsiveness
  • Embracing diversity, innovation, and contemporariness
  • Accountability, transparency, and integrity”


Our Team

President – Christian Verdicchio
Vice President & Secretary – Martina Matta
Treasurer – Gianna Vorrasi
Executive Member – Michael Donato

Hon Tony Piccolo MP
Mark Quaglia
Alessandro Ragazzo
Andrea Ramon
Antonio Rosato
Prof Angela Scarino

Former Members:
Vincent Tarzia MP, Antonio Dottore, Mario Romaldi, Angelo Fantasia, Alessandro Vecchiarelli, Assoc. Prof Marinella Marmo